Implementation & Standards

Implementation and Standards

Chair: Jon Kellermann, Fox Valley Technical College

The WPFC recognizes two sets of standards for prescribed fire implementation. The National Wildfire Coordinating Group (NWCG) is considered the national authority in wildfire standards and implementation and their standards are accepted as best precatice by the WPFC. The Implementation and Standards Committee has also developed several documents important for the consistency of fire training and application specific to Wisconsin.

Wisconsin Prescribed Fire Council Standards

National Wildfire Coordinating Group (NWCG)

The participating groups include the U.S. Forest Service, Bureau of Land Management (BLM), National Park Service (NPS), Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA), Fish and Wildlife Service (FWS) and state forestry agencies through the National Association of State Foresters.

The purpose of NWCG is to coordinate programs of the participating wildfire management agencies so as to avoid wasteful duplication and to provide a means of constructively working together. Its goal is to provide more effective execution of each agency’s fire management program. The group provides a formalized system to agree upon standards of training, equipment, qualifications and other operational functions.

Visit NWCG’s website for more information.